Statement of Faith

“I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!” – Galatians 2:20-21

My saving faith in Jesus Christ is the identification with His death and His resurrection. My heart is restored to life and I am free to live in God’s holy will (Galatians 5:1). I was raised to believe that works can save, but I know it is only faith we are saved. One must recognize that there is no complete fulfillment in this life without the love of God, and acknowledge that Christ’s death and resurrection is the only path to eternal life. Once you accept this then a public statement of baptism to show believers your heart-change is good, publicly showing your willingness to take on Jesus’ promise for life everlasting, but not required for salvation. I learned growing up that to be saved and to go to heaven is to be baptized, but through trials of life during college and a subsequent spiritual crash in 2006, and through studying of God’s word over the past two years I now know that complete abandon of yourself and the opening of your heart for Christ to come in and dwell is the only way to obtain eternal life.

Paradidomi. I’m not a Greek expert. In fact, this is the only Greek word have committed to memory ever. It means to surrender. To yield. To put in prison. I’m starting this blog as a first year seminary student. A journey. God has taken me from where I’ve been and will place me as He wills, and I must surrender. I wanted to start this two year plus blog and journey of faith with my statement of faith. The wordage may change slightly through the next few years as I begin to more fully understand the Word and what it has to say for this life, and the next. I am sincerely not trying to be some sort of Greek speaking poser, but I did want to find a word that so envelopes the call of Christ. I pray I will learn to know it’s meaning more each day. To literally put myself in prison for Christ, a concept that Paul knew very well. As I said earlier, I don’t know Greek yet, but I wonder if Paul when he was writing this purposely used this word for surrender, paradidomi. Is there another word he could have chosen but decided to use one, as he himself knew what it meant to literally be in prison for Christ?

Leave a Reply

