“Oh to love Him more…”

“But whatever things were gain to me, those things I have counted as loss for the sake of Christ. More than that, I count all things to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish so that I may gain Christ.” – Philippians 3:7-8 NASB

What things do we have that define us? I’ll tell you what I immediately think of for myself: my job, my school, my wife. All good, but all loss. All wonderful, but all rubbish….compared to the surpassing value of knowing Christ. Now I don’t think I am being harsh. Of course I do not believe my wife is rubbish, but if that is what I consider as my only identity, then I miss the mark. The question here is, do you love Christ?

R.C. Sproul once asked me this question (when I say “me” I meant the people he was talking to on the CD I was listening to, but everytime I hear R.C. speak I assume he’s just talking to me), do you love Jesus with all your heart? Probably the answer is no. Do you love Him as much as your should? Again, no. Do you even love Him a little bit? Yes. So what is prohibiting me from loving Him with all I have? Yes, sin is an answer, but what things are in my life am I counting as more important that Him. “Oh to love Him more.”

If you trust in Christ, then you have been called by God to live a life that reflects Christ and to love Christ. “Oh to love him more.” “Do not love the world nor the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him” (1 John 2:15 ESV). The cheap love of this world stands right in between the real love of a Savior. We are to count ALL loss, not just some, not just the things we want to let go of, but all. Certainly our faith is a constantly growing and maturing experience, but we have to consider that all things in this world are passing away and that the love of our Lord remains forever (1 John 2:17, Psalm 146:6).

As we relfect on this Easter season, if you have Christ then I pray you will further peel away any layers that are standing in between you and true love. If you have not put your faith in Jesus, then consider the cost. Consider the things that you love and see if they stand the test of time. Are they temporary and fleeing? Or do they provide true joy and fulfillment? You must realize that everything in this world breaks down, decomposes, fades away, so why not count them all as loss and trust in the everlasting love of a Savior who suffered for the sins of His people and desires that all people come to know Him? What rubbish is keeping you from knowing God and gaining Christ in your life? No other story in this world offers that kind of promise and fulfillment than the true story of the cross of Jesus Christ. “Oh to love Him more.”

Leave a Reply

